University of Veterinary Medicine
Universities and higher education institutions that can award doctorates
Founded 1778
2.473 Students
2 Study Programmes
Clinical Skills Lab
Short information

Type of control

under public law

Location

Hannover

Semester dates

Winter Semester from 1st of October to 31th of March Summer Semester from 1st of April to 30th of September
University

University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover

Bünteweg 2
30559 Hannover
Tel.: +49 511 953 6

University - The Particular

The University of Veterinary Medicine Hannover, Foundation (TiHo) is an independent university. It is the only independent veterinary training establishment in Germany. TiHo has six clinics, 19 institutes and three special units spread over two sites in Hannover, both of which have their own special charm. The University also has field offices in Ruthe near Sarstedt, in Bakum near Vechta and in Büsum at the North Sea coast.

Study Programme - Main Focus

Places at TiHo are highly coveted. The University receives many more applications than the 250 or so places available for first-year students in the subject of Veterinary Medicine each year. In addition to Veterinary Medicine, TiHo also offers degree programmes in Biology – in the Master's programme in Animal Biology and Biomedical Sciences. TiHo has a student population of around 2,400, including Master's students and PhD students.

Background - The Insight

TiHo was founded in 1778 at the request of George III, King of Great Britain and Elector of Hanover. Originally called the Roß-Arzney-Schule, the establishment initially focused on equestrian studies, but soon developed to include the treatment of other animals. The first intake comprised 26 students, who took a one-year course in which mainly practical skills were taught. However, most students stayed on for two years – even then, the course was much shorter than it is today! It takes eleven semesters to study Veterinary Medicine.

What's special here?

For many years, the Clinical Skills Lab teaches students to master their veterinary skills before applying them to the animal. The students practice on models and simulators - for example, to take blood, to lay infusions, or to perform rectal examinations. The Clinical Skills Lab at the TiHo is the largest veterinary training center in Germany.

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover
Universitäten und Hochschulen mit Promotionsrecht
1778 gegründet
2.368 Studierende
2 Studiengänge
Hochschulkuh Donate
Kurzinfo

Trägerschaft

öffentlich-rechtlich

Standort

Hannover

Semestertermine

Wintersemester: vom 1. Oktober bis zum 31. März Sommersemester: vom 1. April bis zum 30. September
Hochschule

Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

Bünteweg 2
30559 Hannover
Tel.: (0511) 953 60

Hochschule - das Besondere

Die Stiftung Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover (TiHo) ist eine eigenständige Universität. Sie ist die einzige eigenständige tierärztliche Ausbildungsstätte in Deutschland. Innerhalb Hannovers verteilen sich sechs Kliniken, 19 Institute und drei Fachgebiete auf zwei Standorte, die sich jeweils durch einen ganz eigenen und besonderen Charme auszeichnen. Hinzu kommen Außenstellen in Ruthe bei Sarstedt, in Bakum bei Vechta und in Büsum an der Nordseeküste.

Studienangebot - die Schwerpunkte

Das Studium an der TiHo ist sehr begehrt. Etwas mehr als 250 Plätze gibt es jedes Jahr für die Studienanfängerinnen und Studienanfänger im Fach Tiermedizin, und jedes Jahr bewerben sich weit mehr Studieninteressierte als Plätze zur Verfügung stehen. Neben Tiermedizin kann man an der TiHo auch Biologie studieren – im Masterstudiengang „Animal Biology and Biomedical Sciences“. Einschließlich der Masterstudierenden sowie der Doktoranden und PhD-Studierenden sind an der TiHo etwa 2.400 Studierende eingeschrieben.

Hintergrund - die Einblicke

Die TiHo wurde 1778 auf Wunsch Georg III., König von Großbritannien und Kurfürst von Hannover, gegründet. Sie hieß anfangs Roß-Arzney Schule und zunächst standen, wie der Name schon sagt, Pferde im Mittelpunkt, aber schon bald wurden auch andere Tiere behandelt. Der Unterricht begann damals mit 26 Schülern, die einen einjährigen Kurs durchliefen, in dem hauptsächlich praktische Fertigkeiten vermittelt wurden. Die Schüler blieben aber in der Regel zwei Jahre – trotzdem war die Ausbildung damals deutlich kürzer als heute! Das Tiermedizinstudium dauert elf Semester.

Das gibt's nur hier

Im Jahr 2003 brachte die Staatsoper Hannover die „Gärtnerin aus Liebe“ auf die Bühne – eine Oper von Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Zu Beginn des Stückes stand die Kuh Donate der TiHo als „Statistin“ auf der Bühne. Zu allen Proben und Aufführungen brachten die Mitarbeiter des Lehr- und Forschungsgutes Ruthe die Kuh nach Hannover. Heute genießt Donate, inzwischen leicht ergraut, ihren Ruhestand. 

 

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover

© Tierärztliche Hochschule Hannover